Motherhood irrelevant? Huh?

Posted: May 11, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

As we just celebrated Mother’s Day on Sunday I’m writing this post about something that made me shake my head and question what the hell is wrong with people. You all know that Twitter provides me with a wealth of material, but this is something I never thought I’d ever see in a million years.

Ah, what? So you’re suggesting I’m a 2nd class citizen because I am at home raising my kids? She also goes even further and says that stay at home mom’s are lazy and UN-AMERICAN! Really? Staying at home with my kids is the most difficult and rewarding “job” I’ve ever had. It’s work. It isn’t just a walk in the park.

Yesterday I took the time to personally ask her about this and she attempted to say it was a poor choice of words, but her comments after trying to back track were to the contrary.

“Use of that term was unfortunate. I judge pol. opinions by how much one studies politics and don’t see relevance of motherhood””I don’t have a problem w moms who study politics, but w anyone who wants their opinion to be taken seriously and doesn’t study”

So she didn’t really mean what she said. If we who stay home and care for our kids don’t have an Ivy League degree in political science we are not relevant. She is just a young misguided woman who doesn’t have kids.  She has been brainwashed by bigger problem of… feminism (yes feminism).

Feminists claim to support the choices of all women. They support the choice for a woman to kill her unborn child, but if a woman chooses to stay at home and raise her own children, well that is just an abomination. Note to conservative women, feminists (or feminazi’s) don’t care about your views or beliefs because most likely they view them as setting their movement back (even though they are all about a woman’s right to choose, so long as it’s what they approve of).

If feminists cared about all women then they would take a stand when ANY woman is attacked for her beliefs. Prime example of this would be NOW’s failure to make a statement against Bill Maher when he called Sarah Palin a “dumb twat”. So to any feminists out there, do me a favor, don’t support my choices. I don’t need you. I have plenty of other people who support me and my decisions, and political views. Most of them are men.

Comments
  1. chris says:

    Looking through your blog, I’m pretty sure that there are a lot of things that you and I would disagree on–but this person was out of line. Mothering is so important. I learned more about politics and society and values from spending time with my children than I have from any scholarship and studying.

    You may not want my support for your choice (although you do have it), but I at least want to apologize that you had to read something so awful.

  2. Snertly says:

    Sounds right on par for someone who works for Andrew Breitbart.

  3. Sandra says:

    Do you work for Breitbart? Really? Can you get me a gig? That would be AWESOME!!!

    **Some people are just idiots… Snertly=perfect example…

  4. Working Mommy says:

    Hi,
    I came across your blog somehow because of this posting on motherhood, and I was in shock. Not by what you said, but what someone would infer a stay at home mother is any kind of second class citizen. It is wrong on so many levels.

    I’m a working mom; however, I think most reasonable individuals know that being a stay at home mom is a job in and of itself. I have two boys, well, three if you count my husband, and staying home with them drains much more than my work schedule.

    Anyone that can actually believe a stay a home is lazy? Wow, they obviously have NO children, because you cannot stay home with children all day and be lazy. It’s impossible.

    Being a mom is a 24/7 job, like you said, it’s the most rewarding, but the most draining. Anyone that thinks differently has no children, or apparently a nanny.

    • It was disheartening to see that someone actually viewed SAHM’s in such low regard. I have been in both shoes, worked full time as a mom of 2 boys & now the SAHM of 2 boys (after losing a job). I can say with certainty that being a SAHM is harder. There are no breaks, its kids, cooking, cleaning, & running 24/7.

      The author of the blog views SAHM’s are that we have nothing of value to contribute to society since by her assumption that we are all uneducated, 2nd class citizens. Plenty of us have an education or take pride in being educated politically or otherwise. The author is wrong. There are plenty of other mom’s like myself.

      • Working Mommy says:

        THe stay at home mom job is harder, no doubt; as you said, no breaks, cooking, cleaning, running around, maybe taking a shower, maybe going to the bathroom (as fast as possible) and possibly sitting down for two minutes.

        Why one would think they are uneducated makes absolutely no sense, sounds a bit closed minded to me.

Leave a Reply

